LSC - Governors
Local School Committee

Our Local School Committee are volunteers, parents, staff and Trust Governors who know the school and its values and ethos well. They are responsible for maintaining and improving the standard of achievement of pupils and the conduct of the school, and do this by providing support and challenge to the Headteacher. The role is that of a critical friend and will always act in the best interests of all pupils at the school.

Please visit the Brigshaw Learning Partnership website to find out about the Board of Directors and view the Trust’s Governance and Financial information. The BLP Board, which is responsible for all of our schools, contains representatives from across our community, as well as very experienced and skilled people who share our values.

How our Local Governors are appointed

Parent Governors are elected by the parents of pupils in school

Community/Trust Appointed Governors are appointed by the Brigshaw Learning Partnership

Staff Governors are elected by the staff of the school.

Associate Members are appointed by the Local School Committee and work in an advisory capacity. Associate Members have no voting rights.

The Headteacher holds an ex-officio position

Local School Committee Governors

Sallie Elliott - Headteacher (ex-officio)

Term of office: 01/09/2018
Appointed By: Ex-Officio by Virtue of office as Headteacher
Address: Mrs Sallie Elliott, Headteacher, Savile Road, Methley, Leeds LS26 9HT

Mrs Louise Hallworth - Chair of Governors

Term of office: 25/03/2019 - 27/03/2028
Appointed By: Governing Body / Trust Board
Address: FAO: Chair of Governors, Mrs Louise Hallworth, Chair of Governors, Savile Road, Methley, Leeds LS26 9HT

Rachael Hewitt

Term of office: 09/11/2016 - 16/10/2024
Appointed By: Elected by School Staff

Rose Chadwick

Term of office: 12/10/2023 - 12/10/2027
Appointed By: Governing Body / Trust Board

Sue Simmons

Term of office: 12/10/2023 - 12/10/2027
Appointed By: Elected by Parents

Chris Barrow

Term of office: 12/10/2023 - 12/10/2027
Appointed By: Elected by Parents

Historic Governors

Jess Hudson: 13 May 2021 - 15 April 2024

Philip Parker: 29 November 2022 - 26 January 2024

Sarah Hancox: 19 October 2017 - 22 December 2023

Lisa Mitchell: 5 November 2018 - 4 November 2022

To contact our Governors care of the school:

Email: and mark for the governor's attention

Telephone: 0113 320 6207

Address: Savile Road, Methley, Leeds LS26 9HT

All Governors (except the Headteacher and Head of School) are elected for a period of 4 years. They meet at least 5 times per academic year to receive reports on the management of the school, curriculum development, premises, health and safety and staffing issues. They are also responsible for ensuring the school is improving in line with the priorities in the School Development Plan.

The Governors make available to parents an annual report to inform them about the progress of the school and provide the opportunity to raise any issues with the Governors.

Through the Local School Committee, there are links with the Board of Directors of the Brigshaw Learning Partnership.

Please follow this link to view our governors at Methley Primary School.

Meetings 2023-24

Local School Committee Meetings

  • Monday 28th September 2023
  • Tuesday 28th November 2023
  • Tuesday 26th March 2024
  • Wednesday 3rd July 2024

Challenge Days

  • Tuesday 16th January 2024
  • Thursday 9th May 2024